skip navigation
Coyotes Youth Hockey Hub Network

Howlers 2nd Stride

A PROGRAM TO CONTINUE YOUR PLAYERS LOVE FOR HOCKEY

Howlers 2nd Stride is a continue to play hockey program, for graduates of the Little Howler's program, hosted in cooperation with the Arizona Coyotes Hockey Development Program, the National Hockey League, the National Hockey League Players Association, USA Hockey, CCM and local hockey rinks.

For an incredibly low cost of $200 each child receives six (6) one-hour sessions designed to provide kids ages 5-10 a way to continue their skill development for the great sport of hockey. Each player receives a street hockey stick, ball and tickets to a Coyotes home game!

The classes are taught by USA Hockey certified coaches from the Coyotes Hockey Development Team, along with coaches from the local hockey programs.

At the conclusion of Howlers 2nd Stride, players are encouraged to join the next step program at their local rink.

Lead Instructor

Tom Johnson

Coach Johnson grew up playing ice hockey in Seattle, WA and has nearly 20 years of coaching experience. 

While still playing minor hockey, Coach Johnson would serve as a mentor and assistant for his younger brother’s hockey teams.  During his mentorship opportunities, Coach Johnson developed a passion for helping other players reach their potential and goals.  Throughout his coaching career, he has worked with players of all ages and abilities, from beginner to collegiate and even professional. 

While Coach Johnson has predominantly coached in Phoenix, AZ, he has been fortunate enough to work with teams and programs in Powell River, BC and Saskatoon, Sk.  In addition to Johnson’s extensive coaching experience, he holds a Master Level Coaching Certification from USA Hockey. 

Coach Johnson has since transferred his on-ice passion for coaching into a teaching career.  Coach Johnson currently teaches science at Liberty High School in Peoria, AZ.  When Coach Johnson is not coaching, teaching or mentoring students and athletes he is spending time with his wife and their two kids, Kade and Blake.

Oceanside Ice Arena Sessions

Oceanside Session 1 Oceanside Session 2
Sunday, May 12, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, July 14, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm
Sunday, May 19, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, July 21, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm
Sunday, June 9, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, July 28, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm
Sunday, June 16, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, August 4, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm
Sunday, June 23, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, August 11, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm
Sunday, June 30, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm Sunday, August 18, 2019 11:30am-12:30pm

Arcadia Ice Arena Sessions

Arcadia Session 1 Arcadia Session 2 Arcadia Session 3
Saturday April 20, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, June 1, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:20am-9:20am
Saturday April 27, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, June 8, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, July 20, 8:20am-9:20am
Saturday, May 4, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, June 15, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, July 27, 2019 8:20am-9:20am
Saturday, May 11, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, June 22, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, August 3, 2019 8:20am-9:20am
Saturday, May 18, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, June 29, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, August 10, 2019 8:20am-9:20am
Saturday, May 25, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, July 6, 2019 8:20am-9:20am Saturday, August 17, 2019 8:20am-9:20am

For more information on Howlers 2nd Stride or youth hockey in the Valley, contact the Coyotes Hockey Development Program at 623-772-3464.

 

How to Register

The Arizona Coyotes Hockey Development Program, USA Hockey, and the NHL/NHLPA have provided numerous resources to contribute to this program including an online registration tool. Click on the "REGISTER" button above or below, and fill out the corresponding registration form to the rink you would like to skate at! A representative from the Coyotes will contact you to confirm your registration and answer any questions you may have.

*Registration for each clinic is limited and subject to availability.